SHARE

Joshua C.

Although a serious student, I am also a strong believer of making learning fun or at least enjoyable to be truly effective.

Biography

Beyond having a strong desire to help other students make better grades and find new ways of learning, codifying & remembering, I have experience tutoring and teaching English as a second language, a very open schedule and a GPA of 3.9. As a Spanish major with an almost nerd-like obsession for learning new vocab and improving my grammar, which I have studied to an advanced level, I would make an ideal tutor for students of beginning or intermediate Spanish approaching advanced levels, or current students of advanced conversation and composition. Moreover, anyone needing help with English composition, be it for an essay in almost any class, I am available and humbly awesome at editing and redacting. My Comp II professor awarded me the only 100% in her 17 years of teaching composition, for a paper I wrote in a little under 3 hours the night before. So, I hope to be able to help you do the same. Where I live in Fayetteville is an awesome organization, the Ozark Literacy Council, which offers free ESL classes and tutoring. A few summers ago, I spent many fun mornings and afternoons there, offering my help to a wide range of individuals, something that helped teach me to be flexible, catering each tutor session to the tutoree. Helping other students in many different classes, as well as receiving help, has also helped to acclimate me to the tutoring experience, which is to say I am very comfortable and hopefully accomodating during a session. I have an unwavering interest in language, to the point where I quite enjoy going over the finer points and splitting semantic hairs. I am hopeful that I might help others learn to enjoy the learning process, even enjoying studying. I promise that if we were to study together, I'll either pique your academic interest, get you to giggle, or die trying.

Availability

I have a very open schedule, as I am only taking 3 classes this semester. MFW, I am available from 2:30-8:30 pm, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9-11am and 2:30-8:30 pm. Saturdays and Sundays my availability begins at 12pm, ends around 6pm.

Send Message

SHARE PROFILE

Courses Tutored

ANTH 1023 Introduction to Cultural Anthropology

University of Arkansas

$15

per hour

ENGL 1013 Composition I

University of Arkansas

$15

per hour

ENGL 1023 Composition II

University of Arkansas

$15

per hour

GNST 2003 Introduction to Gender Studies

University of Arkansas

$15

per hour

HUMN 3163 On Death and Dying

University of Arkansas

$15

per hour

SEE MORE (+8)

Colleges